Thread: Archiving Video

Default Archiving Video

As a total newbie, I am capturing analogue video 8 tapes via Pinnacle Studio 9 using an Avermedia DVB TV card. Ideally I am looking to capture these in the best quality possible to re use later for editing in more than one project.

A straightforward capture to mpeg2 gave very disappointing quality both on playback on the PC and also when burned as a DVD movie. To capture in avi format using PICvideoMjpeg codec (seems to be preferred by Pinnacle 9) at a high quality setting worked OK but would mean I could archive less than 10 minutes on a DVD! I have several hours of family events..................

Additionally, when editing an avi file in Pinnacle and then outputting again to avi, I seem to have several options of different codecs. Does it matter which I choose? I only have access to my son's TV card for another 2 months and I have already spent ages trying to get my head around how to do it. Any advice would be most welcome.

Lots of solutions to your archiving problem, the real problem is which is best for you:

Tape backup - high capacity storage, can be internal or external drive - I wouldn't reccommend this as a long term storage option. tapes are too fragile a medium to trust to time and storage conditions. Its great for redundant/repititious backup routines where you cycle tapes all the time.

Add an extra harddrive to your system - one of the 300+gig drives, maybe 2. Problem is, you will still run out of space if you keep adding (cause you just LOVE video editing that much).

Invest in a removable harddrive system. Kind of expensive, and can be hard to get insertable harddrives as time goes on.