Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: video capturing quality problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4

    Default video capturing quality problem

    Hi,
    I'm new at video editing and need some help/advice on capturing video onto my computer hard-drive. I'm using a Sony DCR-HC26 Handycam and connecting it to my computer via usb connection and capturing it with Sony Vegas software. The problem is the quality. It is a little dull in colors and the over all quality of the video is lower than viewing the video on my TV by just using the provided RCA cables using the AV out on my camcorder. I don't know why it looks much more vivid on my TV using RCA cables than connecting it to my computer.

    My questions are:
    1. would it be better to use the Sony I-link connection (DV out)?
    2. just to be sure, what is the best size/resolution to set the video for a TV screen, at 760x440 (I believe that was the setting) or something else?
    3. any other suggestions for a rookie like my?
    Thanks for your time,
    Glen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Hey,

    to answer your questions:

    1. Yes, capturing via USB gives rubbish quality, so you indeed ought to use an I-link connection (Firewire)

    2. If you've got a PAL TV, 756 x 480 is the proper resolution.

    3. If you haven't got a I-link cable yet, it's best you buy one, since USB is really not done. I didn't get an I-link cable with my Sony DCR HC-24, which is lame in my opinion, and I went out to buy one. You'll notice the difference in quality immediately.

    Hope this all helps.
    Last edited by Snaak; 05-26-2007 at 05:48 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Snaak,
    thanks for the reply and information, I appreciate it. Sounds like the Sony I-link will improve my quality which is exactly what I'm looking for.


    Thanks again,
    Glen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snaak View Post
    2. If you've got a PAL TV, 756 x 480 is the proper resolution.
    Are you sure?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Mills View Post
    Are you sure?
    Sorry, my bad. I guess I wasn't really awake, I meant 720 x 576, but I'm not sure if this is the case with every TV or other device.

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing Video Quality
    By sn77star in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 01:22 PM
  2. Light and quality capturing quality
    By MrChad in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 10:53 PM
  3. Quality problem capturing / burning video with Video Studeo
    By sanman in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2005, 10:36 AM
  4. problem capturing video
    By vzaveri in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2004, 04:35 AM
  5. Poor video quality after capturing
    By tolsen in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 03:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •