Thread: Slow Motion Segments

Default Slow Motion Segments

Hey guys what's up I'm new here and trying to get into the video editing scene which seems really great. Anyways, in Sony Vegas I was trying to figure out how to make a segment of a clip slow motion. I have searched around and found this site, a thread that talked about using the Rubber band tool or the Velocity Envelopes. I at first tried the Velocity Envelopes but it seems to 'fade', in other words, I just want, for example, 00:00:30 to 00:00:50 to be in slow motion, instant too, I don't want it to gradually become slow motion. I'm new to this so it's probably something I did wrong. I then tried the rubber band tool but I didn't understand it haha. Anyways, was wondering if you guys could please help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it.

first u need to cut the clip where u want the slo mo to start and end. if u dont kno how to do that, just get it to the spot where u want it to start slo mo, press s, then get it to where u want it to end press s (make sure the video clip is highlighted or u might be cliping something else) then drag the clip to the right of the one u just cliped (the middle one) away from it and go back to the middle one and get ur cursor on the edge of the clip where the box with the connected arrow shows up, then press and hold ctrl, a little squigly line will be under it. drag it to where u want it then put the end clip back with it. dont forget in the slo mo part to take the sound out. unless u want it. to do that, right click on the sound part of the clip, go to group, then remove from. now u can delete just the sound or video.

Hey thanks man! Although your instructions were a bit confusing I think I figured it out, at least, those were the cutting instructions. But how do I make it slow motion now? Thanks!