Thread: Adobe Premiere Pro - Help

Default Adobe Premiere Pro - Help

I've just recently started to use this programe and find myself stuck on a problem.

My issue is that I've two separate clips that I want displayed simultaneously so that it appears to be one. I don't want to do the split screen thing where you can see both images and it's evident that they're separate. What I want to do is blend the clips in the middle where they meet so it appears as if it's one scene.

I would be grateful for any help and please bear in mind that I'm a newbie so simple, easy to follow instructions would be most appreciated

I've not heard of this one before. Do you mean blend them in the sense of how you would knit multiple photos together as a panorama in photoshop (or whatever)?

I certainly don't know of a plugin that would attempt to find a match between the two clips on a frame by frame basis and merge them together as one. At leasty not for Premiere. You could track motion in After Effects and apply those positions to the same/equvalent point on the second clip to line the clips up that way.

To merge the two clips gracefully in Premiere what you really need is to mask the edges off in a feathered fashion (i.e. fade the mask out at the edge) and then line them up. However, none of the mask options I know about in Premiere has a feather option so I'm inclined to think you need After Effects again because it excells at this.

What you might be able to do in Premiere though, is apply a mask based on a monochrome image and have that 'mask image' fade between black and white nicely.

Overall, sounds like a job for a proper compositing tool if you have access to one.

What I mean is for instance if you have two separate clips:

Clip 1: person 1 at a scene.
    Clip 2: person 2 at a different scene.

What I wanted to do is blend the scene so that the two scenes appear as though it is one.