Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NTSC to PAL - Can I do it?

  1. #1

    Default NTSC to PAL - Can I do it?

    Well I've done several searches here and can't see an obvious answer..

    I downloaded a couple of things from detonation films (a couple of free muzzle flashes)

    But these are in 29.95fps NTSC and I have been told that to get this to composite with the footage I have, I need it in PAL to match the stuff I already have. which was shot as PAL footage... (The lead singer mimes a gunshot with his finger, and I thought it would be cool to make it really fire!)

    I only have Premier Elements 3, so I hope there is either some trick or a plugin or even a 3rd party utility that can sort me out.

    Many thanks
    Last edited by MarkOneMusic; 05-17-2007 at 10:01 AM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Have you tried using the clip as is? I often use footage in various formats in one project and it works fine.

    I use vegas.

  3. #3

    Default

    Cheers Mark, I'll try that...

    Hey another Mark from Bristol!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    If the clip doesn't waork as-is then just do the following.

    Start a new project using as NTSC - matchin the muzzle flash clip.

    Find a good muzzle flash frame. Export it as a still.

    Open your actual project. import the still and drop it on the timeline, rotating, scaling and positioning to suit You onl;y need the still to display for a couple of frames at most. Or maybe a hal=f dozen frame and fade it in and out over the last few.

    You may have to play wiht transparncy of the background of the still in photohsop or apply some sort of luma key maybe.

    For a 'right touch' apply a little smoke too - but doing that is another essay entirely.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkOneMusic View Post
    Cheers Mark, I'll try that...

    Hey another Mark from Bristol!
    Oh yes - check out my web site - maybe we can give eachother a hand someday somehow.

  6. #6

    Default

    if you were really stuck, then you could download an aftereffects trial and follow these steps...

    Toolfarm - Plugins, Software Sales and Distribution

  7. #7

    Default

    Well, Although the flash imported, It had some horrible interlacing artifact, and I just could not get a matte from it... Ho hum.

    So I tried a variation on Alan's suggestion.

    I photoshopped a flash still from scratch, and saved it as a PNG with a transparent background, imported, rotated and scaled to taste and popped it in on 3 consecutive frames (had to manually motion track it to the end of the guys finger, but that was easy)

    Thanks for the tip!

    [Oh dear this video editing stuff is a bit catching isn't it - Even now I'm trying to think of a way to justify to the internal Capex authority - AKA wife - the acquisition of after effects... WHAT HAVE I DONE?]

Similar Threads

  1. Ntsc/pal
    By Alex C in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 10:51 PM
  2. PAL and NTSC??
    By tcs0914 in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2006, 02:04 AM
  3. PAL to NTSC
    By meridklt in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 08:24 PM
  4. NTSC and PAL
    By jw.gale in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2004, 07:59 PM
  5. PAL v NTSC?????
    By Glen in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 12:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •