Thread: Start-up questions for a noble cause

Portsmouth, NH USA

Default Start-up questions for a noble cause

I am volunteer for our local Hospice and heading up what I call The Legacy Project. The Legacy Project helps a dying patient star in a video that passes on their legacy: an ethical will, family history, or other message for prosperity. The video is their gift to family, friends, and future generations. I expect well be using Adobe Premier Elements as our NLE (but Im also looking at PowerDirector). I'm new at this and will be asking your help from time to time.

I expect to keep things simple; I will not be looking for Hollywood-like videos. They'll be a patient in a bed or chair and a off screen interviewer to help the patient along (they'll all have some diminished capacity). Raw video will be shot over several sessions and then edited to put them all together, add a title, perhaps some other 'titles' at major transitions in content, and credits. I'll want to add chapters (scene selections) as well. I'm leaning towards Adobe because our needs may grow over time and I want to grow within the software without major re-training.

With that background I have several questions.

1. We are thinking of buying a consumer camcorder in the $500 range. We believe a DVD-based system would be best. It eliminates the need for a USB or firewire download, would simplify managing several projects at a time, and provide an archive of sorts. Is this wise?

2. What do you think about choosing a NLE? We realize that the world will change as will our needs. HiDef, BluRay, more or different projects but we will never become a professional shop.

That's it for now. As we learn more we'll learn what we don't know and I'll be back. Don't hesitate to volunteer information (even questions or considerations) you think I should have. Thanks for your help with this noble cause.

Hi Jack,

That is a very noble cause indeed, and I tip my hat to you.