Thread: sony DCR-SR30E

Default sony DCR-SR30E

Hi I have recently brought a sony DCR-SR30E HDD camcorder, The problem i have is with editing the footage. The supplied software seemed abit deficent on effects and didnt seem that easy to use. so i tried windows movie maker which seems to have everything i require at the moment as im very new to all this. The problem is WMM cant be used with HDD cameras so im told.My question is what do i need to edit, also the lead supplied to connect to the pc is USB but i have read that fire wire is much better. Is it possible to buy a firewire cable but with a miniUSB plug so can connect to the camera and replace the original USB cable.
    Many thanks colin

Quote Originally Posted by colingo View Post
    Is it possible to buy a firewire cable but with a miniUSB plug so can connect to the camera and replace the original USB cable.
    Many thanks colin
    I'm pretty sure the answer to this is a definite 'no'.

I'm sorry to be so blunt here, but you made a bad camera purchase if you intend to edit easily. The footage is recorded by your camera in MPEG format. This is much less suited to editing than DV AVI format, which is what standard definition miniDV tape-based cameras use.

If changing the camera is not an option, I'd suggest transferring your footage to your PC via USB as per instructions. Then convert it to DV AVI before editing from there. There is plenty of advice within these forums that cover this issue.

I'm afraid to say that the manufacturer of your camera did not anticipate that customers might actually want to significantly edit any footage they took with it.

So if i convert to dv avi will i be able to edit with windows movie maker.
    colin

Quote Originally Posted by colingo View Post
    So if i convert to dv avi will i be able to edit with windows movie maker.
    colin
    Yes, as well as many other editing programs.