Thread: Questions about PANASONIC NVGS180B

Default Questions about PANASONIC NVGS180B

Hi everyone,
    I have been researching for my first camcorder for a few months now and have a few questions about the PANASONIC NVGS180B.

1 (For one thing I was wondering why the letters after the 180 varied so much. are they later product revisions?)

I will be using the camcorder for some amateur filmmaking, so I need to be able to do fairly high quality day shooting, night shooting and animation.
    The reviews I read, such as on Panasonic PV-GS180 Camcorder Review - Panasonic MiniDV Camcorders, state that athough shooting in light conditions provides fantastic results, shooting in darker conditions isn't so good.
    2 I imagine that the reviews make it sound worse than it really is. but how bad is it really, are the results dark or fuzzy?
    3 Would using bright enough artificial lights, solve the problem anyway?

4 If shooting in the16:9 mode, camcorderinfo says "This results in a significant drop in video sharpness" how bad is this?

For the animation side of things I would connect the camcorder to my pc for live feed and grab the animation frames with software.
    5 I was wondering if the camcorder has auto power off after a while? If so, can this be stopped by leaving the tape draw ejected or something?
    6 For filming small objects I was wondering how close to objects the camcorder can focus and how precise the focus is using the joystick instead of a focus ring as some cams have.
    7 If the camcorder loses power or is switched off, will the focus need to be re-adjusted or will it save the focus settings for next time?

If anyone can answer any of these or maybe reccommend a similar priced, better cam for me, available in the u.k, it will be a big help.

hi Redmurunga,

i bought a panasonic nv gs 180 in november 2006. and i'm quite happy, by now, with it's performance. yet i have only used it a couple of times.