Thread: Guidance on getting a camcorder

Question Guidance on getting a camcorder

OK, here goes. I'm looking for a camcorder. I will be recording a band on tour of the UK so a mix of live footage (in the semi-dark) and soundcheck/backstage/other footage in a mixture of light, dark and somewhere in the middle. Shows will be around 80-90 minutes long and ideally I'd like to capture them in their entirety.

I'm looking at 20-odd shows (@ 90 mins say) plus roughly 1 hour extra per show = approx 3,000 minutes for the tour in total. I'll have limited access to a PC so back-up to PC probably won't be feasible.

We're looking at putting some of the footage onto DVD at the end so it needs to be the best possible quality - not up to HD standard though.

Any recommendations/advise/guidance? As you can maybe tell I'm fairly new to all this!

Quote Originally Posted by Nige78 View Post
    OK, here goes. I'm looking for a camcorder. I will be recording a band on tour of the UK so a mix of live footage (in the semi-dark) and soundcheck/backstage/other footage in a mixture of light, dark and somewhere in the middle. Shows will be around 80-90 minutes long and ideally I'd like to capture them in their entirety.

I'm looking at 20-odd shows (@ 90 mins say) plus roughly 1 hour extra per show = approx 3,000 minutes for the tour in total. I'll have limited access to a PC so back-up to PC probably won't be feasible.

We're looking at putting some of the footage onto DVD at the end so it needs to be the best possible quality - not up to HD standard though.

Any recommendations/advise/guidance? As you can maybe tell I'm fairly new to all this!