Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: which port do I have on my geforce 4 mx440 se?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default which port do I have on my geforce 4 mx440 se?

    As well as the normal connector I also have something that looks like s-video but it is not. What is it and how can I use it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If it looks like S-Video, then it probably is I think the reference geforce 4 mx440 se has TV-out as standard. Hook it up to your TV, go to the display settings and activate the video out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    er, that would be an s-video line out

    You just might need something like Tvtool to wake it up.

    I tried on my GeForce3 ti200 and couldn't get owt from it.

    If you get it to work then, if you are lucky it will be your video overlay (as seen in Premiere etc. You can then see what things will realy look like on a TV before encoding. Very handy for credit scroll - apparently!

    If you get it working and you're unlucky then it will just be a copy of the windows desktop, but sent to a TV.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    nonononono. An S-video cable doesn't fit properly. It has 9 pin holes and is labeled TV out.
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Did u buy the card bulk(no retail box/accessorie) because it could be a proprietary port in which the manufacturor provides a hub type item that changes that one port into like ansvideo and rca ports


    Do you have something like
    \/ \/ \/
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    it probably was bought bulk cos my brother built it for me
    that thing you sent a picture of is probably what I need. Hiw muc his it?
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If you need one it should have come with the card - not even sure you could buy one seperately! What's the brand of the card? Is it definately NOT s-video? Can you describe it?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    142

    Default

    yeah I bet that's what it is. I have one of those on my AIW and it has an adapter that then goes to RCA and S-video. If he got it from his brother maybe the adapter was lost in the process or somethingl
    Pentium 4 2.4C
    1GB Kingston HyperX PC4000 Dual-Channel
    Abit IS7-G
    2x80GB Western Digital 7200RPM 8MB Cache RAID 0
    ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 Pro
    Sony DVD-ROM
    NEC CD-RW
    NEC 19\" CRT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Yep, that'll be a 9 pin mini din, so u need a 9 pin mini-din to S-Video cable. I've had a look for one, but as cards tend to come with proprietry mulitfunction cables you'll probably "luck out" on this one!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Found one: http://www.sandberg.it/worldwide/def...t=6&subcat=188 (under video adapters).

    http://www.sandberg.it/img/prod/lg/504-47_lg.jpg

    You then need to connect an s-video cable to this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. firewire to usb port possible?
    By jobfromthebible in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 08:56 AM
  2. VCR to computer: Port/Cable problem
    By contra in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 12:12 AM
  3. Laptop with no line in port
    By douglasproctor in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2004, 10:18 AM
  4. nvidia geforce 400 mx to vhs video.
    By ill-matic in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 09:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •