Thread: premiere setup

Default premiere setup

im a tech for a college and we have a small multimedia suite where our students can edit using P6.5, we are due to upgrade our machines in the summer but at the moment we are having a few problems, who doesnt?
    Because we only have 18 pc and alot more students so we are unable to allow students to stay on one pc until their projects are complete. We use a system where our students use a removable hard drive, which they insert in to the caddie of the pc, this hard drive is used as the scratch disk and it is also where all data relevant to there project is stored, i.e project is saved, clips stored, music etc etc. Most of the problems are clip related, clips go missing, video disappears but audio is still there, projects won't open etc. I just wanted to know if some of these problems could be related to this setup? I understand it is not the best way.

pc spec

pentium 4 1.5ghz
    512 mb
    w2000
    NEC 2500a DVD rw
    Nvida 5600 256mb using dual monitors.
    removable harddrives / caddies.

all computers are networked to a local domain which allows students to log in using editor user accounts.

i would be gratful on anyones view/comments on the above.
    many thanks

Blog Entries

First off, welcome to the forums!

The idea of using removable discs is a good solution to your problem. However, given the nature of the majority of removable HDDs on the market, they tend to be ill suited to video editing as they typically can't sustain the high data transfer rate required in editing. Now this isn't a problem during everyday editing, but encoding and capturing to external HDDs does tend to throw up dropped frames.

If your students are experiencing dropped frames, the easiest solution would be to capture/encode to the internal drive, then transfer to the external. Make sure the internal drives are in tip top condition by regularly defraging and cleaning up unused files. The same goes for the external drives!