Thread: Removing a few seconds of a movie...

Default Removing a few seconds of a movie...

Hey,

I am new to video editing, only having used a few minor tools in a few freeware video editors for some small problems here and there. I have a small problem that seems simple to fix, but I cannot find a way to fix it, so far.

I have a copy of Young Frankenstein, on my hard drive (off of a DVD, although I did not copy it myself). In the middle of the movie, there is a glitch in the coding. The movie image 'freezes', but the movie does not stop playing. For 6 frames in one place, and also 5 or 6 frames a few seconds past that, the audio and movie keep playing, but the image 'freezes'. No frames are lost, it is like hitting pause for the video while the audio keeps playing. There is also some video corruption, but it is minor, and not an issue I am worried about. This 'freezing' throws the audio/video sync out, and puts the image behind the audio, so the people move their mouths (or make noise, etc) after the lines (or actions) are heard.

If I leave the movie alone, and it plays through the glitch and on past, the audio stays delayed. If, however, I stop the movie after the glitch (even 1 frame after), and then hit play again, the audio and video are in sync again.

I have found out the length of the glitch area, which is 104 frames. In a few freeware editor I have found (VirtualDub), I tried to crop the frames out, and it plays ok, but there is a 2 or 3 second pause while the deleted area is 'played' through. The frame before the deleted area is 'frozen' on the screen, and stays there for the 2 or 3 seconds of 'playing', then the movie starts again, in sync. The glitch area has no importance, so is ok to cut out without affecting the quality of the movie.