Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: whats a good video editing program?

Default whats a good video editing program?

im just getting into the hobby so please bare with me. I was wondering if anyone knew a good video editing program. I would like it to have the ability to add special effects like explosions. Also, i have a video that was filmed somewhere, but i would like it to appear like it was filmed somewhere else. I have software that can delete parts of the video and color them in with something else, but this only works for the whole video. I would like software that allows me to go frame by frame and do this. Free is always a plus, but im willing to pay
    Thanks

Blog Entries

Hmm, not an easy one to answer really! There's such a choice covering a range of budgets. However, you suggest you wanted something close to free. With that in mind, you wouldn't be prepared to spend money on the likes of Adobe Premiere and I suggest you try out Pure Motion Edit Studio.

http://www.puremotion.com/

thanks, yea i was looking at adobe and i dont really want to spend upwards of $600

get vegas. I believe it's a bit cheaper and I personally believe it's better.
    Pentium 4 2.4C
    1GB Kingston HyperX PC4000 Dual-Channel
    Abit IS7-G
    2x80GB Western Digital 7200RPM 8MB Cache RAID 0
    ATI All-In-Wonder 9600 Pro
    Sony DVD-ROM
    NEC CD-RW
    NEC 19\" CRT

Indeed, Vegas > Everything. Get that.

Blog Entries

Whilst I admit that Vegas is indeed the business, in this person's case the cost is prohibitive. Edit Studio is between 5-10% of the cost of Vegas and an ideal starter package for the complete novice.

If you do get into the video editing bug, you can "upgrade" to one of the more expensive packages at a later date. If you're only ever going to be a casual user, I don't think it's worth paying the extra (unless you've got money to burn!)