Thread: Looking for a free digital editing program.

Wink Looking for a free digital editing program.

Hi,

I am new here. I need to find a free digital video editing program.

I make home movies. I would like to know if there is a free program that allows me to play with the sound track of my video. I am pretty good with audio wave editing as i do have a virtual recording studio (cubase). But i am really new to editing digital video.
    I was given a Sony DCR-SR40 as a gift and the video editing software that came with the cam is...well, i think, not good enough. Maybe i am missing something.

It seems every time i try to search for free editors, i am always brought to a purchase page, or the program is not free at all. Really time consuming and frustrating for me.

I don't even know what to search for, really. So, i thought about asking you sexy, helpful know-it-all's.

Here are some main things i would like to do, if they are at all possible to do with a free digital video editor.

- I would like to import soundtracks that i create in cubase into the video's audio track. What sort of format is the audio track anyway in digital video...wave, mp3, etc?

- I am wondering if i am able to like...crop the video.
    For example, i have a few videos that show people's faces and i need to edit the faces out. Their faces are at the far side of the video. So, i am thinking sort of like jpg editing....where we can crop a selected area of the photo and leave the rest intact. Is that possible with a free editor? Or at all? I want to keep the scene but only trim around the edges to take out his face.

General question:
    Are we able to make photos from video scenes?
    There are some frames that i would like to make jpg's with. How would i do that, if possible?

I am hoping that only the people with real knowledge of what i am trying to do will respond instead of a few people merely suggesting 'this or that' - there are already enough google searches to confuse me.