Thread: video capture and compression

Default video capture and compression

hello. my name is jared and i'm brand new to video capture. If you just want to see the question I have, look towards the end, or you can read this huge paragraph and tell me if I'm doing anything wrong. Okay, so, my mom has lots of 8mm home videos that we've taken over the years (about 100). A while ago, I decided that it was a lot of fun to watch them, but too much work. We have a little dedicated 8mm VCR by sony that we use to watch the tapes. So, i hooked that up to my dad's capture card (Canopus ADVC-1394) and started testing different ways to capture. Using Premiere, I decided that it was best to capture in avi, since wmv and mpg were crappy looking and there were little lines going though them (my cpu usage never left 100% during capture). My plan is to capture in avi (each 2 hour movie is around 25 gb) and then split it into separate movies using premiere, if the tape has multiple events on it (many do). Then, using Canopus Procoder, I'm want to convert each avi into a 640x480 mpg. I think a 2 hour mpg of this quality is about 5 gb, and i'm alright with that large of a file. However, if a wmv is just as good and i just didn't have the settings correct, please let me know.

HERE'S THE QUESTION
    My plan is to capture in avi, split that file w/premiere, then compress each file individually to mpg 2's using procoder. Would it make any difference if I capture in avi, compress the entire file to mpg 2 using procoder, and then split that file into separate movies using premiere?

NUTSHELL
    Is it advantageous to edit video before it's compressed? If I edit an mpg 2 movie using premiere, will it lose lots of quality or be crappy or anything?

just to clarify: I need to split the captures b/c many 8mm tapes have more than one event on them, or they have blank space.