Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When I buy a Hollywood Movie DVD - the quality is fantastic - why are my DVDs so bad?

Default When I buy a Hollywood Movie DVD - the quality is fantastic - why are my DVDs so bad?

Hi,

If possible, could someone be kind enough to explain the following to me:

When I buy a DVD movie such as mission impossible 3, why is the quality of the picture amazing, where my DVDs are no where near as good once transcoded?

To give you the background - I'm an amateur video editor - basically my wife and I edit our holiday movies etc.

We record using nothing special, a Sony DCR-HC42E MiniDV camcorder.

There is however, a significant difference between the original video quality recorded and the completed 'transcoded' DVD video version (mpeg2?)

'It must be the settings' I hear you cry! Well I've been using Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 for a couple of years now (I have an Athlon XP CPU - so no SSE2 - therefore no Premiere Pro 2! - yet!) and I have tried so many settings including pushing the quality setting to full, setting the video target rate at 8.0 ish etc etc.

For completeness of information, I am of course setting up the project as a DV Widescreen PAL project as that is what I record in.

So in summary, is it that movies are recorded in resolutions far in excess of what I'm recording in, therefore when the video is transcoded, any loss of detail is not visable?
    Or are there further optimal setting in Premiere Pro 1.5 that I'm just missing?

Oh and don't get me wrong, the video that is being outputted to DVD is great - its just that its not as good as the original caputered recording (avi).

Thanks in advance everyone.

James

probably the main difference in quality is down to the fact that a high budget movie like MI3 has better cinemtography than your holiday movie. Don't know about you but I don't take a 60 person movie crew with me on my holidays Lighting angles sound, lens quality etc etc all have a bearing on quality.