Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: encoding problem in Encore 1.5

  1. #1

    Default encoding problem in Encore 1.5

    Hi there, i've got an Encore 1.5 problem and it's driving me nuts. I've exported my 25minute mpeg from Premiere 6.5 using the mpeg encoder plug in, but when i try to build the DVD in Encore, it comes up with a 'bit rate too high at <specific timecode>....now the time code it mentions is a random frame in a black title graphic mid way through the movie.

    I don't know why this is happening at this exact frame, as it seems to scan through the previous titles fine...is there a patch for this? Should i have put a section of black video, and laid the title over the top of this? if so, why did it work before?

    I need to get this 25 min section onto DVD pronto and i can't seem to get it to work! i've made DVDs this way before with titles etc and it's been fine....

    Any advice would be much appreciated

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Try exporting from Premiere as a DV AVI file and let Encore do the transcoding for you.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi

    Thanks for the advice - alas it didnt work - now i got a whole new error message! it seemed to get through the build, but when validating it just said "write error" and ejected the disc.

    any clues?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by House_Of_Myrmidon View Post
    Hi

    Thanks for the advice - alas it didnt work - now i got a whole new error message! it seemed to get through the build, but when validating it just said "write error" and ejected the disc.

    any clues?
    Ejected the disk???? he never suggested writing anythingo blank media. His suggestion was to, instead of exporting MPEg2 in Premiere and using that in Encore to export AVIU in Prmeiere and use that in Encore letting Encore do the encoding for you. nowhere should you get a disk ejected from his suggestion.

    Also, when you build you DVD in Encore use the 'build DVD Folder' option rather than burn to disk. This way you get a VIDEOTS folder on your hard drive somewhere and you can play/test this in a software DVD player. When you're happy then simply burn the VIDEO_TS folder to some blank media using Nero or something.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi there

    I did export the file as DV AVI from Premiere and let Encore do the transcoding and then used the 'build' button, left it to build and when i came back the error message was up, and the disc tray was open.

    Hows about exporting as a .m2v file from Premiere? does encore support this? i tried exporting as mpeg-1 and Encore said it wasnt supported and i've never used .m2v before - does it have advantages over mpeg?

    as you can tell, i'm not to hot on this side of things, so apologies if it seems like you teaching the basics here - just cant understand why the bit rate is spiking in the premeire timeline!

  6. #6

    Default success!

    thanks for your help chaps!

    in the end i had a crack at authoring it on Ulead Workshop 2...done and done in 10 mins.

    Cheers again for all the advice

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by House_Of_Myrmidon View Post
    Hi there

    I did export the file as DV AVI from Premiere and let Encore do the transcoding and then used the 'build' button, left it to build and when i came back the error message was up, and the disc tray was open.
    respectfully, that's not what I said. I said build the DVD image to a hard drive folder which involves no disk burning at all. From there you can 'test' your DVD image and on;ly burn itto disk (using somethign like Nero) when you are ready. I alwauys do this and have quite simply NEVER let Encore do a disk burn in all three versions I've owned.

    Quote Originally Posted by House_Of_Myrmidon View Post
    Hows about exporting as a .m2v file from Premiere? does encore support this? i tried exporting as mpeg-1 and Encore said it wasnt supported and i've never used .m2v before - does it have advantages over mpeg?
    DVD are really just MPEG2 files playing on your TV. SO to export from Premiere in MPOEg2 format, produing M2V anbd WAV files is what Encore prefers. It's its native format if you will. You have to do this transcode at some point from your timeline so if one option fails try it in the other.

    historically, there are a couple of subtle differences in Encore when you use MPEG2 fiels or AVI files but I've not seen these manifest in v2 so presumably they've been 'fixed'.

Similar Threads

  1. Encoding and Aspect Ratios problem
    By Richard Browne in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 11:18 AM
  2. Encoding problem
    By tim in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 12:03 PM
  3. Encoding problem with DVD Workshop 2
    By MAURORAG in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2004, 07:44 AM
  4. Pinnacle Encoding problem
    By goatboy78 in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 09:42 AM
  5. Encoding Problem With ULead Studio 7
    By Rancher500 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2003, 08:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •