Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: analouge in, digital out

  1. #1

    Default analouge in, digital out

    i got sony dcr-trv140e and i want to be able to input analouge signal and get digital out via firewire and im following the instruction from the user manual but i still get a blue screen on DV lcd after connecting the VCR to it and playing the cassete in VCR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The dcr-trv140e does not have the facility to do what you want as it offers S-video "out" only (and not "in"). What page of the manual are you reading?

  3. #3

    Default

    im using composite not S-video

    in the manual it says u can record from VCR/Tv on the tape using composite input and the display should appear on the lcd but i just get a blue screen on the camera LCD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    189

    Default

    i had this problem. you need to buy an adaptor that plugs into your VCR. into the 21 pin connector. mine has a little switch that has VCR in/VCR out so if i want to record to the camera I use VCR out and vice versa.
    Aim for the Moon - If you miss, you may hit a Star


    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    48x CD burner
    16x Dual Layer DVD burner
    512 Mb RAM
    Windows XP Pro/Debian unstable
    Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5
    Firewire card
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    2 x 17" CRTs, 1 x 17" TFT

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theboss View Post
    im using composite not S-video

    in the manual it says u can record from VCR/Tv on the tape using composite input and the display should appear on the lcd but i just get a blue screen on the camera LCD
    Hi, were you able to resolve the issue with recording? I have a VCR which I want to connect to the camcorder so I can use it as pass through to the computer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I was on site looking at the spec of this camcorder and this is what is says about input and output options...

    Interfaces

    Output Interfaces USB S-Video Composite (Video) Audio (RCA) FireWire / DV / i.Link
    Input Interfaces FireWire / DV / iLink

    There is no mention of analogue input on this camcorder.

Similar Threads

  1. Analogue to digital. Better by PC or digital camera input?
    By cibola123 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2005, 10:56 AM
  2. Anaolgue to digital - better by PC or via a digital camera?
    By cibola123 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 09:17 PM
  3. Win Digital Camcorder and Digital Camera
    By williamgiles in forum Pimp the Link
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 12:49 PM
  4. Digital 8
    By Nick Niehaus in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2004, 05:10 AM
  5. VHS to Digital
    By Mike777 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 08:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •