Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Does Vista work with Pinnacle?

  1. Default Does Vista work with Pinnacle?

    I am buying a computer just to use editing video and creating phot slide shows but note that they all appear to be loaded with Vista. Having read a large number of adverse comments about vista in regards to editing video this worries me. I am also not impressed that one has to have a new copy of vista for every computer.
    So, does Vista run well with Pinnacle and if not are there any verifiable examples of this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BML View Post
    I am buying a computer just to use editing video and creating phot slide shows but note that they all appear to be loaded with Vista. Having read a large number of adverse comments about vista in regards to editing video this worries me. I am also not impressed that one has to have a new copy of vista for every computer.
    So, does Vista run well with Pinnacle and if not are there any verifiable examples of this?
    If you are refering to Pinnacle studio, there is a patch which makes it compatible with vista, their smart messeging system will automaticly inform you that it can be downloaded.
    That's what Pinnacle says...Taken into consideration that their software won't run properly on many XP computers I hardly believe that Vista will make any difference... The problem with vista is that many suppliers need to update their drivers and make patches in order to make their software work flawless on Vista, in that way Vista is at this moment not ready yet to be taken seriously. I saw this add from apple recently: http://images.apple.com/movies/us/ap...ty_480x376.mov
    which was hilarious, those guys from apple know exactly where it hurts most.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Thurrock, Essex
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by noa View Post
    If you are refering to Pinnacle studio, there is a patch which makes it compatible with vista, their smart messeging system will automaticly inform you that it can be downloaded.
    That's what Pinnacle says...Taken into consideration that their software won't run properly on many XP computers I hardly believe that Vista will make any difference... The problem with vista is that many suppliers need to update their drivers and make patches in order to make their software work flawless on Vista, in that way Vista is at this moment not ready yet to be taken seriously. I saw this add from apple recently: http://images.apple.com/movies/us/ap...ty_480x376.mov
    which was hilarious, those guys from apple know exactly where it hurts most.

    Studio 9 was not that bad but did tend to crash a few times right at the wrong time, i found that after boosting my ram it was better.

  4. #4

    Default

    I still have the old Studio Version 8, but I guess there's no way I could ever run this on a Vista machine?? I can of course get the latest version 11, so I can access my old projects, however I'm torn over getting Corel instead as it gets much better reviews...but I won't be able to get into my old projects...dilemma!!

Similar Threads

  1. Where to look for work???
    By bit.heed in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 08:51 PM
  2. Vista anyone got it yet
    By FNG in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 07:51 AM
  3. Pinnacle 9.4 doesnt work on AMD machine
    By Jurgsl in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 06:33 PM
  4. Will Pinnacle Studio 10 work with Sony DVD - RW
    By browndog in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2005, 06:32 PM
  5. Transferring edited work from Pinnacle to Adobe Elements etc
    By talaash in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-11-2005, 01:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •