Thread: video editing laptop which one?

Default video editing laptop which one?

hello all

im a bit new to video editing with small skills and just create small videos on my home computer. im going traveling soon and looking to get a good laptop that will be able to take video editing well and produce good movies of my time while traveling can anyone give me some ideas what laptops best and where to buy or what to look for in a laptop

In a similar situation myself, although I have a fair amount of video editing experience, just not using a laptop. What's the way to go and how much would I expect to pay?

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

Editing takes power - get the fastest and fattest you can afford.

4. Default

If you're not concerned about specific platform (i.e. XP or Mac) I'd recommend Dell because they offer the most customisation. I've used a 1.6Ghz Centrino Pentium M (single core) Dell Inspiron, 400Mhz FSB, 1Gb RAM with 7200rpm hard drive and huge screen res for over 2 years running Adobe Premiere Pro with Standard Definition.

BUT consider whether you want to do high definition, i.e. 720p, 1080i or 1080p and try to find out if your chosen platform can cope with editing AND capturing without dropping frames.

I'm looking to move into the HD area myself and broaden my knowledge of software by considering a MacBookPro but I'm still working this one out whether it will cope. See my other threads.

BUT If you are happy to stick with standard definition resolution then the Dell spec I mentioned would be fine. The latest specs will be dual core which will be way ahead of my system spec.

Got a camcorder yet? If not I would consider a Nokia N95 as it apparently takes 30fps near DVD quality onto solid state memory cards - very handy for travelling.

Bournemouth, UK

As Mark W says, as much of everything as you can afford.