Thread: Video Edidting Software for Music DVD ?

Default Video Edidting Software for Music DVD ?

Hi Digital Director.

I am a full time recording musician and I will be commencing filming for two of my songs included on my latsest CD and intended accomanying DVD.
    Filming will begin next week.
    I intend to produce a 2 disc jewell case pack being CD audio for my CD recording and an accompanying DVD which will be my scripted and storyboarded video DVD of at least 2 of my songs.
    I will be hiring a 3 chip video camera / recorder to do it, and I will be doing the filming myself. I am also an ex Art Director / Graphic designer.
    I am very lucky to have actors interested in my project, who will be giving me their services for free in return for my providng them with my music DVD which will serve as a good talent reel for them. Hence their interest and generous participation.
    I have a problem : I have no video edidting software.
    Neither have I video edited before.
    Is there a video editing software program either purchasable or even
    ( dare I say, freely downloadable full version ) that I could use for my project ?
    I have unlimited time in which I could train myself to video edit. I also have a good freind and video editor who I'm sure would help me.
    I have a video capture card already installed on my PC.
    Unfortunately I can not afford the high end video editing software programs such as Adobe Premiere etc, so perhaps I'm asking too much ?
    My editing will be simple in that I will be using minimal effects, probably fades, cross fades and disolves only, plus of course, opening title end credits.
    Might there be any options for me ?
    I would be very appreciative of any help and suggests, and I will in return post copies of my final production as thanks.

cheers. Musivideo