Thread: Final dvd jumpy at transitions

Default Final dvd jumpy at transitions

I am new to video editing and to be fair think I have done pretty well on my first little project.
    I have just got married in cuba and have loads of photos and video footage to edit together to produce a dvd. I have chosen photos and video and linked them together with titles,video effects and transitions. The dvd last approximately half an hour.

The problem I have is that on my final dvd the transition between still photos and even a few of the photos themselves are a bit jumpy. Any ideas?

I've tried a few different ways, here's what I did. Firstly I tried exporting the video as an avi file which took 8 hours to do(is this right?)

The converted it with dvd santa to vob file and burnt it through nero.

The other way I did it was to use adobe mpeg encoder.(which only took an hour)-Why the difference?

And burnt it through nero again. PLease please please help.

It will probaly help if we knew a bit more about what you're editing in. Somebody might be able to point you straight to a solution with the editing package.

There's lots of reasons why rendering can take a long time (8hrs for 30mins is poor). It could be your computer doesn't have suffcient processing power (that could also be the cause of your problem - just a guess) or the complexity of your editing commands. There's no reason to use all the transtions available. Professionals hardly use any at all.

You mentioned Adobe mpeg encoder. Are you using premiere which has the encoder in it? if so that's proably the best thing to do and let Nero do the rest.

Personally I'd find a half hour video a bit hard going. Consider making shorter clips and using the menu in Nero to select what you want to see. You'll probably find it more pleasing to skip to what interests you at the time especially if you're showing someone else who might be polite but actually be bored.

Good luck