Thread: Pinnacle Studio 10 questions

Essex, UK

Default Pinnacle Studio 10 questions

Hi, first post on here.

Firstly, although a highly experienced sound engineer, I am a complete newbie at the video thing, so please be gentle! I recently bought Pinnacle Dazzle Platinum, simply to capture VHS, edit and burn to DVD.

1. When editing/playing back in Pinnacle Studio 10, it is slower than realtime. Why would this be? I have a 3.6Ghz, 2Gb RAM machine, with no other programs open. I can work with this, as the finished product is at the proper speed, but it's not ideal when editing.

2. I'm capturing mpeg2 at a bitrate of 6000. When burning the finished project to DVD it asks me which bitrate I'd like - strange because I thought that was already established (6000). Should I burn the final DVD at the same bitrate, or a lower one to squeeze more on? Or should I be capturing at a high bitrate and then burning at a lower one? Or a higher one? Confused.

3. I'm mainly converting old TV programmes to DVD, and would ideally like to put 2 or 3 programmes onto DVD. In Studio 10 is there a way to create a basic menu which allows the user to select which programme to watch? Also, how do I make chapter points in my edited programmes?

4. I read that using a soft picture mode on a VHS machine reduces noise and makes the encide better. I've been doing this and it seems to improve it. Is this correct, plus are there any other tips for better capture?

W Surrey, England

I've never captured VHS, but generally, always capture in the highest quality you can, ie not mpeg2. DV if you can.