Thread: Loss of picture quality

Default Loss of picture quality

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to camcorders. I got one to film my one month old daughter.

My camcorder is a new Sony DVD109e (new for feb 2007)
    The software I bought is magix movie edit pro 10.
    I also got an external DVD re-writer as my PC didn't have one.

I was hoping to use a couple of RW DVD's and keep putting all the data onto my PC. Comparing the playback of the video from a DVD finalized in the camera (8cm) it seems much better than the video once it gets put onto my PC (which seems to have little lines on the borders of objects and a shaky delay in all movements for the video that has been put onto the PC)

Is this normal , or is it there something I have missed?
    I guess I will buy more 8cm DVD's to keep the raw data. but don't wan't my new external DVD re-writer and editing software to be wasted..

Hope you can help,

Thanks,
    Craig

Quote Originally Posted by Rexate View Post
    Hi everyone,

My camcorder is a new Sony DVD109e (new for feb 2007)

... seems to have little lines on the borders of objects and a shaky delay in all movements for the video that has been put onto the PC

Is this normal , or is it there something I have missed?

Craig

Sounds like interlacing to me, which is normal, but DVD cameras seem to be really bad for that sort of thing! Much lower data rate, and less fps recording than miniDV, and on the fly (rushed) encoding (which is why the interlacing tends to be much more exagurated)

I've been asked to edit things for clients from these cameras, and even de-interlacing software doesn't help much!

Can't stand the things myself. Throw it in the bin and get a better camera, and don't listen to the oiks in currys or believe sony's advertising again.

This probably sounds very negative (and I apologise in advance), but if you want to easily edit your footage I suggest you ditch the DVD camera without delay and buy a miniDV one instead.