Thread: Re-stitching the video after splitting

Default Re-stitching the video after splitting

Since I'm a newbie in video editing, I'm not sure I'm using the right terminology, but I'll try my best. I have Vegas Platinum 7. In order to edit out the bad clips, I had to split the video. As an example, I cut out two sections of video so I have 3 sections in video left. In order to add a transition between #1 and #2, I have to drag #2 to overlap until the amount of time that I want the two sections to overlap. Let's say I don't want to add a transition between #2 and #3. When I drag #2 over the end of #1, #3 stays at its place. How do I re-attach #2 and #3 after cutting out the bad parts?

As far as I am aware that is not possible, unless you do an UNDO after a cut, but that is only taking you back one step.

You could highlight section two right click mouse and say open in trimmer and the highlighted bit should be in the trimmer, re adjust length and replace 2 & 3 with the new continuous clip. (I know this works in Vegas 7)

Footnote.
    You could delete three and stretch two over its place thus it is one again...
    Last edited by Z Cheema; 02-21-2007 at 11:02 PM.

As you have "removed" time between #2 and #3 how do you think you could re-attach?

You can't re-attach that which you have cut asunder by removing time?

Grouping: However, you can create a GROUP of #2 and #3. Then parts #2 and #3 would move as one.

Rendering: You could also render to a new track a "selection" of the #2 and #3 parts and substitute this render piece. You could also render #2 and #3. But what are doing is creating a new entity of #2 and #3 - you aint re-attaching.

Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    As you have "removed" time between #2 and #3 how do you think you could re-attach?

You can't re-attach that which you have cut asunder by removing time?

Grouping: However, you can create a GROUP of #2 and #3. Then parts #2 and #3 would move as one.