Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Currently a 60min DV tape = 13GB - What does a 60min HDV tape take up?

Default Currently a 60min DV tape = 13GB - What does a 60min HDV tape take up?

Hi all,

I only discovered this forum last week so i'm a newbie, but its such a great source of info!

Apologies if this post is in the wrong topic area, I couldn't really decide where to put it!

I've been running Adobe Premier Pro for the last couple of years in order to turn what would be bland and boring holiday videos into something a little more cool.

In my experience it could be true to say that recording a full 60min miniDV tape using my Sony DCR-HC42E resulted in a raw .avi format file sized approx 13GB.

With the introduction of these new HDV camcorders I was wondering what sort of raw file size a HDV 60 min tape creates.

I am aiming to build another video editing PC in the coming month or so and am wondering what its going to have to work with raw material wise. I know the spec that I want to build, but i'm interested in what I'd need should I upgrade to a HDV camcorder.

Thanks in advance for any answers!

Blog Entries

I surmise this from the specs but I reckon a hdv file will be smaller. DV data rate is 25mbit/s, HDV data rate is 19mbit/s.

I wonder why? Seems odd they used less b width.

Blog Entries

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...HDFormats.aspx

Try this. Lots of info relating to your question.

4. Default

Nice article Microsoft. Perfectly clear.... like a foggy window!