Thread: Colour issues with .PSD files in premier

Default Colour issues with .PSD files in premier

Im fairly new with premier and have just started learning different editing techniques. I have 2 issues that I was hoping are fairly simple to fix. The both involve using .PSD Photoshop files.

The first issue is, sometimes if I create a title of text in photoshop, then import the layer into the timeline. The colour of the text does not appear as it should. So I have created a light blue text title, however there appears to be a few lines of purple at the top of the text? Seems like Premier isnt viewing the .PSD correctly. Any ideas?

Also... similar issue. If I have one .PSD sliding over another (to create a slide sort of affect), there appears to be a small white line at the edge of the frame that is moving over the existing frame. It doesnt seem like the motion is very smooth.

I hope someone can advise the problem here?

Im in the process of getting Adobe Premier Pro 2 and Adobe after effects 7... so im hoping they will make life easier. Thanks in advance!

I don’t know about the purple at the top of the text, but the ‘white line’ at the edge sounds like the picture edge itself. When making a psd’s background transparent, there’s often a few coloured pixels that stay along one edge that can be really noticeable when you animate it.

I’m assuming you make each psd 720 x 576 pixels?

I’ve had this a few times – and usually enlarge the still image, just to select the outer area and press delete – then reduce back to 720 x 576 which gets rid of any ‘stray’ edge pixels.

Yeah, i was making the image 720x576, but I do see what your saying, and Ill give that whirl when i get home from work and post my findings. Cheers!

I have found something that I might try to fix the text problem, and if it works I'll post it in case someone else has the same problem down the track.