Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Long Play V Short Play ?

  1. Default Long Play V Short Play ?

    Is there much quality loss between Long Play and Normal play modes?

    I'm videoing a conference speaker and am wondering about shooting Long Play (something I've not done before).
    I've got a decent camcorder: the Canon GL2. MiniDV tapes are JVC.

    How much quality loss would there be?
    Any comments?
    Last edited by Bansaw; 02-16-2007 at 05:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The data rate of dv is constant. I think ep mode just squeezes everything into tighter tracks so less tape is used.

    This is likely to increase the drop out rate and make the recording unreliable.

    Why bother?

    " DV on SP has a helical scan track width of 10 micrometres, while EP uses a track width of only 6.7 micrometres. Since the tolerances are much tighter, the recorded tape may not play back properly or at all on other devices. "

    from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    " DV on SP has a helical scan track width of 10 micrometres, while EP uses a track width of only 6.7 micrometres. Since the tolerances are much tighter, the recorded tape may not play back properly or at all on other devices. "

    from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DV
    I have first hand experience of this. Frustrating if someone gives you a tape to edit for example (or your cam breaks).

  4. Default

    Thanks for your help guys.

    It looks like I am OK to use LP if I transfer it quicky to my PC.
    The compatibility thing isn't an issue for me. I'll just tranfer it quick.

    I feel I have to use it since my speaker is speaking for 1hr30mins at a time.:s
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Just check that your capture software works OK with LP material. I have experienced problems capturing LP material in the past.

    I would definitely do a trial run before the big day....

  6. #6

    Default

    If you are worried about the length of the job, you could always go for the "belt and braces" approach....on the odd occasion we have had to do a job in excess of the tape length we have been able to capture direct to our laptops using firewire....the first time we did it we used....windows movie maker !!!!....would you believe....the second time we had got a trial version of DV rack.....it did the best job....so if you need to record more than 60 or 90mins...theres a good method.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    here's a really radical idea - Buy more tapes? - LOng PLay is baaaaaad!

Similar Threads

  1. 16:9 avi will only play as 4:3 on mac
    By marios74 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 09:12 PM
  2. Just cant get a .MPG to play
    By bunion in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2006, 12:30 AM
  3. Some AVI files won't play
    By ranchhand in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2006, 06:12 AM
  4. DVDs that don't play
    By keithclarke in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2004, 02:16 PM
  5. DVD play problems
    By Ronky in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2004, 09:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •