Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help please!!! I'm an absolute beginner too!

Default Help please!!! I'm an absolute beginner too!

Hi there,

thank you v. much in advance to the "good samaritan(s)" that will help me with this query. I want to buy a HDD camcorder with 30GBs as I want to start making homemade documentaries as well. I also have got a laptop where I want to mix images, music and my voice.

I want to mix them so that "at a certain part of the music correspond some images" (complete allignment). Do you know which software I would need pls? And do I need anything more apart for a DVD-recorder in order to create these sort of documentaries?

Thank you so much in anticipation good samaritan(s)!!!

Godfather

P.S.: I can always make a proposal you won't refuse!

Blog Entries

Well Godfather I dont want to get suffed so here is some advice.

Condisor not buying a hard drive camcorder for two reasons. Firstly they compress the video more resulting in a slightly less good picture and more importantly the video produced can be a pain to edit in many editors and even when you can edit it it may be slow and glitchy, the editor may be less responsive.

DV tape is a very reliable and mature format - to me it doesnt have any disadvantages except that it isnt the latest thing and salespeople often push the hard drive cameras - dunno why thay do this.

You will then need an editing program - if you have xp or a modern mac (I assume you have) then you have a free editor in the os capable of most basic editing functions.

Next there are value versions of full featured editors - 50 - 100.

Finally full on editors that would give you limitless tracks, lots of effects, flexible input and output options.

Try some for free, http://www.videoforums.co.uk/reviews...16_sectionid/3

Finally your laptop - not the best computer to use but ok if it is fast and modern. Editing needs power and space. You will probably need another drive for video storage.