Thread: Completely New to the Scene, Looking for Advice...

Default Completely New to the Scene, Looking for Advice...

As the title may suggest, I'm completely new to Video Editing.

I'm currently at uni and have been handed an assignment.

Choose a product, it can be anything, food products, clothing, cars ..etc.. and create an advert, somewhere between 30s and a minute.

I've never edited videos before, and i'm wondering the best (most available / popular ) programs to edit, paying attention to the following:

Ease of Interface - Clipping scenes, arranging in specific orders, size of the video (resolution, or is this determined by my camera?)
    Sound effects - Including sound effects and music, voice overs.

I'll be using a Sony DVD101E to shoot all scenes if that helps, but the software provided with it is pretty limited.
    http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews72081.html Any help is much appreciated.
    Last edited by BrIDo; 02-14-2007 at 08:47 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BrIDo View Post
    As the title may suggest, I'm completely new to Video Editing.

I'm currently at uni and have been handed an assignment.

Choose a product, it can be anything, food products, clothing, cars ..etc.. and create an advert, somewhere between 30s and a minute.

I've never edited videos before, and i'm wondering the best (most available / popular ) programs to edit, paying attention to the following:

Ease of Interface - Clipping scenes, arranging in specific orders, size of the video (resolution, or is this determined by my camera?)
    Sound effects - Including sound effects and music, voice overs.

I'll be using a Sony DVD101E to shoot all scenes if that helps, but the software provided with it is pretty limited.
    http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews72081.html Any help is much appreciated.