Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 82

Thread: Tell us your High Specced Spec

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Let me just take the opportunity to welcome myself to the forums, and say hello to you all. I'm Billy, 21, from Edinburgh. Hoping to break my way through into the professional editing game. A dream career for me. Anyway...

    • Ram: Corsair 8GB
    • CPU: Intel Quad Core (4x 2.6Ghz)
    • Hard Drives: 2x 1TB
    • GFX Card: nVidia GeForce 7800GTX
    • DVD Burner: Sony
    • Monitor: 3x 19" Widescreen
    • Adobe Creative Suite 3: Master Collection
    • Fruity Loops 6: XXL Producer
    • Final Draft
    I'm still paying off the computer. Luckily I was able to get an 80% student discount on Adobe CS3. I consider myself pretty damn lucky for that. For anyone interested in the specs of my computer at an affordable price, shop around. I picked mine up, custom built for £1200. A decent price, I reckon. That included extras such as printers, software and so on.

    Billy

  2. #22

    Default

    Computer specs, bought may 2006 for gaming and study


    Operating system: Windows XP-pro SP3
    Case: Zirco AX
    Motherboard: Asus A8n SLI premium, s939
    CPU: AMD x2 4400+
    RAM: kingston HyperX (CL2) 2048 MB (dual channel kit)
    GPU: EVGA 7900 GTX 512 MB
    cooling: Zalman CPU cooler + 3 casefans
    Sound: Creative SB X-fi platinum
    Creative 5.1 speaker set + Speedlink medusa 5.1 pro gamers headset
    editing hardware: Pinnacle DV-500
    1 x 320 GB (16 MB cache) systemdrive and installed programs
    2 x 250 GB RAID 0 (16 MB cache)
    1 x 500 GB USB (16 MB cache)
    keyboard: Logitech g15
    mouse: Razer Copperhead

    Installed video-editing programs:
    • Adobe premiere 5.1
    • Adobe premiere 6
    • Magix Video Studio Deluxe 2007
    • Some pinnacle tools I never use
    • Easy FX
    • Crazy Talk 4.0 (can make everything talk)
    • TMPGEnc 4.0
    • AVI converter (for mobile players)
    • VirtualDub
    • RAD video tools (for converting .BIK files, mostly game intros)
    Installed screenrecording tools
    • FRAPS 2.9.4
    • Gamecam v2
    • Gadwin Printscreen
    • Camstudio

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Nice set up but raid 0 ? ? You dont really need tha speed and you really really dont need the much reduced falult tolerance. My next box will have a raid 1 or 5 array if i can afford it.

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Nice set up but raid 0 ? ? You dont really need tha speed
    For capturing the speed is not needed, you 're right on that. But for game-videorecording it's a big plus if you want to record gameplay while playing for example. I use fraps (full version) for that and record gaming action at 40 to 60 fps (1600 x 1200) which produces enormous files, because fraps just screendumps to AVI. If I record half an hour of gaming I get about 80-90 GB of footage. Slow harddiskperformance, clogging up the computer, screws up your game and make the video worthless, because of shitty gaming due to harddisklag, or because you gotta turn down quality-settings to improve performance.

    and you really really dont need the much reduced falult tolerance. My next box will have a raid 1 or 5 array if i can afford it.
    I do regular backing up of my material. I keep my DV videotapes stored well too, so I 'm not that worried on loosing things that are only on my computer.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I see.

    Well why not just record the game at a more sensible res and frame rate. Cant the games just record a 'log file' so bits an be repeated?

    After all the resultant edited pieice is going to play at a much lower res / frame rate and a much mcuh lower bit rate if it is 'netcast'.

    I think i might be missing something here....

  6. #26

    Default

    Games play fluently on a computer anywhere above 60 fps, in general it's the higher the better, especially on shooters. Most shooterplayers prefer 100+

    If you use FRAPS to record it locks the game's framerate to the recording framerate, therefor you want it as high as possible and at least 60 fps.

    If you use FRAPS to record 60 fps, the game will run at 60 fps (if your pc can handle it o/c). If you turn it down to 25 fps for "more" performance (considering harddisk), it'll instantly drop your gameframerate to 25 fps and the game will start to feel laggy.

    Cant the games just record a 'log file' so bits an be repeated?
    Yes, some games do have the possibility to make a demo, that you can playback later. For example Call of Duty 4. In that case, I prefer to replay the demo and record it at normal framerates. My next gaming video will be made this way on call of duty 4. The plan is to have all people in a server record their own demo's on the same game they play together, and afterward record all points of view to all the action and using that to edit and make a high quality movie for our website.

    I think i might be missing something here....
    I hope I explained it well, feel free to ask, I 'm quite experienced when it comes to gaming and PC performance, just dropping in here to get more video-editing knowledge for video made with a camera.

  7. #27

    Default

    Wow...I must have the suckiest computer(Compaq Presario) ever lol.
    • Ram: Originally 2GB, but my computer kept freezing in Sony Vegas so I upgraded it to 4 GB.
    • CPU: AMD Athlon TM 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
    • GFX Card: nVidia GeForce 6150 SE
    • DVD Burner: Sony
    • Monitor: 22" LG Flatron Wide

    • Sony Vegas Pro 8.0
    • Adobe Premiere Pro CS3
    • Adobe After Effects Pro CS3
    • Adobe Photoshop CS3

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I started editing on vegas 4 with a amd xp1700 - kids today never had it soo good.

  9. #29

    Default

    Here's my lappy

    OS:
    Vista Ultimate 64-bit
    RAM: 4 GB DDR2 (2 x 2 GB)
    CPU: Core2 Extreme X9000 (2.8 GHz, 6 MB L2 cache)
    GPU: nVidia GeForce 8800M GTS, 512 MB RAM
    Harddrives: 2 x 250 GB, 5400 rpm
    Display: 20.1 inch TFT, 1920 x 1200 pixels
    Audio: 3D Sound Blaster Pro, four speakers and one subwoofer
    Blu-Ray rom and SuperMulti dvd±r/rw Double Layer

    Software
    - Adobe Photoshop CS3
    - Ulead VideoStudio 11.5 Plus (just for the fun of it)
    - Sony Vegas 8

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    PALESTINE
    Posts
    2

    Default

    • Motherboard: Gigabyte
    • Ram: 4Gega DDR2
    • CPU: Intel QUAD
    • Hard Drives: 1x600 gega , ex-1x250 , 2x160
    • GFX Card: ATI QUADRO HD dunno the right number
    • Firewire Card: 1394 cardDVD Burner: ATIVA 5000
    • Case: dunno
    • Monitor: HP HD
    • Speakers: Hemilton s6000 12 Speaker 5.1 channel
    • Keyboard & Mouse: Microsoft Wireless Desktop Elite & IntelliMouse 2.0

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone wanna buy my street/dirt specced Mountain Bike?
    By irishmark in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 11:44 AM
  2. i hope my spec is ok....
    By dalai in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2005, 09:25 AM
  3. What ya think of this Spec?
    By Crisis in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 07:25 PM
  4. High spec PC based video editing system
    By mitsimic in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 04:33 PM
  5. check my spec please
    By complience in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-25-2005, 01:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •