Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: problem installing nvidia 5200

  1. #1

    Default problem installing nvidia 5200

    I have problem installing my agp nvidia 5200 on my

    motherboard(K8V-X SE), my system is restarting.

    I wonder if my "k8v-x se" did not support nvidia or do I need

    to change somthing in my bios? I also have the last updated bios so I dont know what wrong,

    please help.


    AMD 3000+ , 1800 GHZ , 1024 RAM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    You might try installing the latest drivers for the card. I would be suprised if it was an incompatability issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Maybe there are some old drivers of your previous card left behind.
    If your system keeps restarting before you can even install new drivers, start Windows XP in safe mode. Windows XP will use it's own vga driver and you can remove the old drivers and install new drivers now.

    Good luck!

  4. #4

    Default

    my system restart before even i logon the windows , i don't have old driver, becouse i formeted the hard and i made new instalesion .and stell restarting !!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    What RAM do you have installed, I ask because not all RAM is compatible with this card, also does the 5200 have a separate power connector? as it may be a case of your power supply not being up to the task. To me it sounds like 1. Your RAM or 2. your BIOS is screwed or 3. not enough power on your 12v rail.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Is the system posting? Are you getting beeps? Are thay indicating an error condition?

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yeebsy View Post
    What RAM do you have installed, I ask because not all RAM is compatible with this card, also does the 5200 have a separate power connector? as it may be a case of your power supply not being up to the task. To me it sounds like 1. Your RAM or 2. your BIOS is screwed or 3. not enough power on your 12v rail.

    DDR2 2 each 512, didn,t have separate power , i have the last update for the bios .

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Is the system posting? Are you getting beeps? Are thay indicating an error condition?

    no error ,no beeps .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I recommend that you go back to your old video card and RMA this new one. There is clearly a fundamental issue with the card that certainly isn't driver related if the system doesn't even post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    What happens to the system with the old card installed? if it works then take Marks advice and RMA the card.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. installing a JVC GR-D720
    By jiggyjizane in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 06:20 AM
  2. External 7200 HD help slow 5200 labtop HD?
    By ryanjones247 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 11:11 PM
  3. NVidia GeForce3 ti200 and Video Overlay??
    By Alan Mills in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 09:11 AM
  4. nvidia geforce 400 mx to vhs video.
    By ill-matic in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 10:32 AM
  5. Nvidia A250 and MyVivo
    By lslamp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 08:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •