Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with transitions!

  1. #1

    Default Help with transitions!


    Ive been using 6.5 for a while at work just to do boring stuff an now i wanna do transitions an it doesnt seem to work. ive followed the instructions meticulously - i can see it there on teh clip an can even change settings but when i watch it through on teh time line its still a jump cut only with a frame of black (with a little cross in the middle) between cuts. where am i going wrong?!?!



  2. #2


    Are the two clips fully buted up against each other so there are no gaps?


  3. #3


    yep, ive ripple deleted the gap and layed the transition right over it, then pressed play in th monitor window an it always goes the same - no transition an a horrible black fram an a cross.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007


    It has been a while since I worked with Premiere 6.5, I am on Pro 2.0 now, but as I recall you need to render a lot of effects or transitions before you can preview them.

    You can recognize the need to render by a red bar just above the transition area or the area where you applied an effect to.

    Hit the enter key when your in the timeline and Premiere will do a render and show you the transition.

    As I said before, it is a long time since I worked with 6.5 and I can't very on my computer if I'm wright, but I hope this will solve your problem.

  5. #5


    thankyou so much, i knew it'd be something simple I was over looking. it seems strange tho that you should have to enter it before you can watch it. Its also a little annoying how you have to render it everytime u wanna watch that specific transition and to watch the whole timeline a you intend it you have to save it which takes AGES. im really enjoyin the programme but maybe im not naturally disosed to technology!

    Thanks again


  6. #6


    You don't have to watch the whole timeline through, once it is rendered you can skip to whichever part you want to see.


  7. #7


    With P6.5, to avoid having to render every transition or filter effect, you can also press the alt + scrub the time marker this gives you a much quicker preview of the added effects.

Similar Threads

  1. Getting More Transitions?
    By pftq in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 06:02 PM
    By RZ in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 04:56 PM
  3. transitions
    By mike curtis in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 06:49 PM
  4. Transitions
    By Leroy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 08:59 PM
  5. Transitions
    By tr1ckst3r in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2004, 06:34 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts