Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Digital transfer problem

  1. #1

    Default Digital transfer problem

    I have a Sony HDR-HC3 Handycam and XP Pro SP2 with KB885222 patch that sets the 1394 port speed. The IEEE1394 port is enabled and in START/ CONTROL PANELS /SYSTEM /HARDWARE /DEVICE MANAGER the 1394 host controller looks normal (no bang, i.e. "!" but there is no entry for the video source, i.e. the camera. The camera is not recognized by the computer. Any ideas besides buy a Mac? Pat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Is your camcorder set to DV out or DV in?

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mihai View Post
    Is your camcorder set to DV out or DV in?
    There are 3 choices: 1. record in HDV and ouitput HDV, 2. Record in HDV and output DV, and 3. record in DV and ouitput DV. Of course you can't record in DV and output HDV. My editing software is for DV and does not support HDV. I use the 2nd option above. I could use the 3rd option but prefer to have the originals in HDV, ever hopeful of getting better editing software and a HD DVD after the Hi Def DVD wars are over (hopefully.) I actually don't fully understand your question as I don't understand DV in for sure. I don't think the camera can be used as a record playback deck. I think the only way to get video on tape is to take video with the camera (optical input not a wire.) Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    I'm not familiar with your particular camcorder but I doubt it wouldn't have DV-in. You could try removing your Firewire port from the Device Manager, then have in automatically reinstalled by Windows.

  5. #5

    Default

    Removing and reinstalling the 1394 software didn't fix it. In a few weeks a friend with another Sony camcorder (DV not HDV) who CAN xfer video in WinXP will be back and we will hook his camera to my computer. If it is not recognized then the 1394 port may be bad (will swap cables too.) I have no means to test the port as I have no other 1394 device. Thanks for the suggestion. I have too much time invested in this situation and need to resolve it. I looked through the manual but see no way to record video except through the lense. I see where you were coming from. If it were a deck and I had it set for recording not playing back it wouldn't work. It still should show up in START/ CONTRO PANNEL/ SYSTEM/ HARDWARE/DEVICE MANAGER as a digital video source device host controller and it never has. Pat
    Last edited by patrick_g; 02-04-2007 at 03:04 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    one thing you dont mention is how you intend to capture the media. What software are you going to use?

    Occasionally when i plug a camera in to my system Windows does not recognise it. Its the software that does the job. - Its a lil odd i know, but its how it works for me.

  7. #7

    Default

    Hmmm, Didn't know that. I thought the camera being plugged in would be automatically recognized. I have the latest Pinnacle Studio version 10.whatever. I also tried Windows Movie Maker. The results are the same, an error message that indicates either there is no source or that it can't be initialized. Thanks for the dose of reality. So far my digital editing is strictly virtual (in my mind not reality.) Pat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    There could be another thing - Occasionally certain cameras wont work. I've found with my Fathers Sony Handycam (not sure what model it is - its a very basic consumer number) does not connect at all to my machine. It's jus not recognised. Strictly speaking this is down to drivers.

    You better have a look in google. Google the model of your camera with Firewire connection problems and i'm sure you will find something.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irishmark View Post
    Strictly speaking this is down to drivers.

    You better have a look in google. Google the model of your camera with Firewire connection problems and i'm sure you will find something.
    Have just abouit monopolized google and haven't found the same camera mentioined with anything like my problem. Closest was using an iMac (no cigar.) As regards drivers: What drivers? There was no software distributed with the camera. It downloads still pix just fine via its USB port. It will drive the TV with composit video and souind or HDMI. Everything seems to work fine except transfering video via the i.Link to 1394 port on computer. Pat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    I'm not sure then dude, Did you say you had had success connecting it to other computers? Usually the driver is a simple generic driver that workls for all devices.
    I would try connecting with other machines then if you still have issues then it suggestes that the camera itself maybe faulty in which case you may need to turn to the warranty

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hi8 transfer to digital
    By bjoertli in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 08:23 PM
  2. "HELP" Sony DCR-HC96E DV transfer problem.
    By escortg3 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 12:47 PM
  3. Transfer VHS tape to Digital - How?
    By PegMac in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-05-2006, 11:35 PM
  4. DV Transfer from DV to Digital 8
    By andyholland in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 06:10 PM
  5. Problem importing avi's from digital camera...
    By nitrousflame in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2005, 09:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •