Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Editing to music

Default Editing to music

Hi all,

Hope all is well.

I have been filming and editing for about 6 years... producing all kinds of stuff ranging from corporate to short films to wedding videos etc. All of which i find enjoyable and relatively stress free!!

However, i have recently landed a job which involves filming and editing live music gigs in a small venue. and music is certainly not a strong point of mine!

So i am looking for advice about how to "edit to the music". what does this mean to different people? and are there any 'rules' i should be following?

any advice is much appreciated

LC

PS - set up for filming is 5 cameras - 1 locked off wide master, 1 locked off on drums, 1 locked off on piano or vocal, and 2 roaming on various instruments

xx

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Luisa View Post
    ...However, i have recently landed a job which involves filming and editing live music gigs in a small venue. and music is certainly not a strong point of mine!

So i am looking for advice about how to "edit to the music". what does this mean to different people? and are there any 'rules' i should be following?...
    Please forgive me, but surely you would have considered this before taking the job on? I would never consider doing a wedding video (for instance) without alot of research to be sure I was suitably equipped and able to approach the job with one hundred percent confidence.

The best advice I can offer is to go back to the Customer, establish their requirements and work to that.

I understand what you are saying and I would usually agree, but this is a full time job position which entails many other aspects... so editing the occasional music event is only a small part of my job.

I didnt want to turn down a position where i have the opportunity to develop further... if you want to diversify your skills then you have to begin somewhere...