Thread: Back from Iraq...with lots of footage!

Tacoma, Washington

Default Back from Iraq...with lots of footage!

Hello from Washington,

I got back from Iraq last year in Nov. I spent the last few months making a video to give to my platoon chock full of good music and excitement. Everybody raved about it. (of course, I'm not a pro and they're friends of mine But anyway...I think it might make a decent documentary of sorts. Add a scripted voice over and a few interviews. A lot of the footage is on missions. We hunted IED's so I have a lot of explosions, a couple firefights. Most of the footage is from inside the vehicle. Not a lot up close stuff. Some of the footage is of us back on the base, talking, goofing around, stuff like that. I shot it all with a JVC Everio camcorder with a 30 gig HDD. I had a 6 hr. battery so that's how I caught some IED's going off. I made a little stand for it in the windscreen so some of it is a little shaky.

So what I'm trying to get at...I'd like to sell it. But i don't know where or how to start. I'd like the advise of some of you seasoned vets. I have it all on about 25 DVD's packed as full as I could get them. All in MPEG-2 format.

Also, maybe some of you will remember me. I posted around April last year about Iraq footage and if you would like to see a video.

I would put some of the footage up for viewing before you get into selling it. Its always good to get other (Neutral) persons opinion not just your mates.
    I have no doubts that what you have done is great but a secound opinion always helps.
    Also would you not have to have the permission of the poeple in the film etc before you could sell it. And also i would of thought your goverment would have something to say (censor) about your film before it goes out to the public.
    Sorry but haven't seen any of your previous footage, so i am commenting blind here.
    DUDE were's my car