Thread: A total beginner's question

Default A total beginner's question

I wondered if one of you could help with, hopefully, a fairly simple question? As the title states, I've got no idea whatsoever about the whole camcorder market but I would like to know which one would best suit my requirements. These are:

1) A camcorder which enables me to create a video blog and upload it to a website. Here, simplicity is the key. Also, I want it to look fairly professional and, therefore, I might have to do some degree of editing.

2) I'm initially looking for a camcorder which will be able to take recordings of a newsreader-style (i.e. a person behind a table) event. Following this, I'm hoping to be able to shoot outside and will probably need something able to work in a wider-screen (perhaps not the correct terminology) style.

Furthermore, are there any other things that I need to buy other than the camcorder? I presume, for example, that I would need a tripod?

Since I am a total beginner, I'm not really looking for loads of fancy features, buttons etc. As regards budget, I suppose something up to 500.

The chap in a well-known high-street store reckoned that everything in his shop would suit my purpose and that nobody would be able to tell the difference between a camera costing 150 and one costing 500. He said that the only difference was the way that the data was stored, i.e. on a DVD, a hard disk etc. and, thus, the length of recording time. To be honest, I wasn't exactly convinced by this and, hence, my question.

Thanks in advance for any advice given

For a videoblog the The chap in a well-known high-street store is right, you almost won't notice the difference and buy a mini-dv cam which is easiest to work with if your new in video and yes, buy a tripod. Especially with these very small handycams it makes a world of difference if you use a tripod or not.