Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another Camcorder Question

Default Another Camcorder Question

I am taking a trip to China early in the summer. I am documenting my sisters' return visit to their orphanages. I am completely new to shooting video and I need some help on what camcorder I should purchase for this trip. I want to be able to document this trip very well, as it is a once in a lifetime trip. The camcorder that I have been looking at is the Canon XH A1. From what I read it is a very solid camcorder and one that will last quite a while. Do you have any other suggestions. My budget is around $4000 for everything. Thank you for your help.

the xh a1 is a rock solid cam and you can't go wrong with it. Only thing I am worried about is the fact that your new at video and then this camera might be a bit too much for you. It is a camera with a lot of manual controls and actually better in the hands of an experienced videographer.
    Personally I would suggest HDV cams in like the Sony hdr-hc3 http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content...der-Review.htm
    It's HDV, it's small and a point and shoot camera meaning you will have very clear picture, you can easily take the cam everywere with you and you almost don't have to worry about the settings. Also you can have a look at the hdr-hc1 (if they still are selling it, I'm not that updated anymore about all the types of hdv cams) http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content...HC1-Review.htm
    which has a bit more manual control that will be a benefit.

Have you also considered the fact that your pc has to be rock solid as well to handle HDV material?

Should I wait on the HC5 or HC7 because Sony just announced those during CES? The HC5 is supposed to be the same price as the HC3.