Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sub Titles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default Sub Titles

    Anyone got any experience of using subtitles in Vegas before I ramble on about my problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Ramble away.

    All you need do I would have thought is to bung the text in the text gen on a different track...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Ok
    I've downloaded Vasst's 'sub text' plugin and it all works well. I can see the text above the timeline in Vegas between markers (inserted from a notepad as .txt file) . I can slide the markers to match the text to the video but I cant preview it anywhere. Do I have to render it out to architect before I can set stuff like font colour, font size and general readabilty against the video background?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Ahh, cant help I am afraid. I dont have nuch call to subtitle so I just use the text gen in vegas.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Sony's DVD Architect will do subtitling and I used it in the middle of last year and found it to be surprisingly easy. If Vegas had a similar too it wou;d be great. As its only in Architect it makes it exclusivley for DVD use but it also means that you can have multiple languege's in subtitles.

    The process is very simple. I had to type all the subs into a txt document with line spaces between each body of text then when i imported trhat into architect it evenly space out the subs on the timeline in Architect. Then it was a case of moving the blocks to match the audio but as i had created markers for each audio piece it made it easier.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thats my 'tip of the week' from Irishmark, well I shall make a point of remembering that - have a gold star or shall I talk Razzle (obscure private gag)

  7. #7

    Default

    This is similar with Adobe Encore 2.0. Do all the subtitles as a .txt file in notepad, each line beginning with the start/end times, and insert it under the main audio track. Text appears according to the times entered.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Thanks for that Irishmark. I was trying to do it in Vegas. It looks like its got even easier in Architect 4. No need for writing it into text document.Insert Sub Title Track>Insert Sub Title Text Event>Right Click Text Event>Edit Text in preview window

Similar Threads

  1. Titles
    By 007banshee in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-30-2008, 05:39 PM
  2. Titles...
    By a set of keys in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 08:53 PM
  3. Titles
    By psycho1 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 02:52 PM
  4. Text/Titles
    By spoon102 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 04:30 PM
  5. Titles
    By prime8 in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2005, 10:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •