Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: No "erasure" protection for LITEON LVW-5006 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Thumbs down No "erasure" protection for LITEON LVW-5006 ?

    I've been using the LITEON LVW-5006

    Yes, I finally made the switch from VHS tape to DVD two years ago and what a
    difference it makes to be able to access programs immediately without the
    need to fast forward or rewind. Plus there's no tape to ware out. But
    once in a while it has problems recording. And the problems that occur are a
    major headache. Here's just one example:

    I had a FUJI FILM DVD+RW disc that had been half filled up with TV programs
    recorded with the same LITE-ON LVW-5006 DVD Recorder. Yesterday I tried
    adding another program to the disc, something I've done several times to
    other discs with no problem. For this disc it would be the 8th time. There was
    plenty of room left to insert a 30 minute program at EP quality. After
    recording was finished I pushed stop and waited. The word "Stopping"
    appeared for a long time and didn't go away like it's suppose to. After ten
    minutes, I held the stop button on the player to finally stop it. When I tried
    playing back what I had just recorded I couldn't get to the page with the
    newest recording. I could only see and play the oldest recordings but not the
    newest. So I played the most recent-oldest and fast-forward through it to
    get to the end where the new one should have started. It played it one
    second and just froze.

    I ejected the disc and noticed it was still clean (no dust or scratches) and
    then put it back in. After inserting it, the machine informed me that it
    was "preparing" the disc. I tried to stop it but it wouldn't let me and the next
    thing I knew, the disc became unplayable! It seems everything I had taped
    for the past several weeks is gone forever! Now it won't play or record on
    the disc saying that it is a "Data Disc" whatever that means and can't play it
    or record on it. It ask me to change the disc for another one. Other discs
    play and record fine. But now I'm afraid to insert any already-recorded
    DVD+RWs for fear that the same thing will occur.

    How is it that a disc with several programs that always played perfectly well
    on this and other machines, is suddenly erased or made to not play or record
    any more? Why aren't there more protections put into these machines??

    When I made the switch from Beta Max to VHS and now to DVD I thought
    the least of my worries would be to accidentally erase a disc, let alone
    PREPARE an *already* prepared/recorded disc!
    Impossible! I thought. Surely DVD machines would have to be TOLD to
    prepare or reformat (what ever you call it) a disc before it does it, right?
    All these problems just makes me want to return to using Super-VHS VCR
    machines (with excellent picture in my opinion) using Super-VHS tape
    cartridges that actually have "recording tabs" you physically remove to prevent

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Blog Entries


    I'm in virtual complete agreement with you here. But... in my experience, it is really only the budget DVD recorders that seem to suffer from glitches like this. I've tried all sorts of brands in my day job and I've gotta say I think they're kak.

    The ones that do seem ok are the likes of Sony and Panasonic etc. Even Philips had a poor reputation for errors and I got so angry with mine (It was the first one I ever bought) I jumped up and down on it and slung it in the bin.

    My advice....move over to HDD recording... far more reliable hardware.

Similar Threads

  1. "latest" video editing sottware on gadget show in 5 mins
    By enc in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 06:00 PM
  2. Solving the "Canīt activate recorder. Try resetting camera"-problem
    By abrotherus in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 06:16 PM
  3. can't use effects like "reverse vid" or "PIP&
    By buddhacrane in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2006, 10:27 PM
  4. "Boxmobiles" and "The Forest"
    By MasterMike in forum User Videos
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-25-2004, 02:47 PM
  5. Pinnacle Studio 9: Sound "plucks" when making tape
    By KNude in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 05:41 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts