Thread: HELP! Lighting for Tutorials

Question HELP! Lighting for Tutorials

Hi,

Im pretty much a total noob at this so assume i know nothing.

I work for Sonic academy, a music technology and DJ training college.

I need help with a lighting and background setup for some video tutorials we are going to be filming (we will also be doing equipment reviews and other things like master classes etc. in the future).

In the pic below i have drawn out a setup which i have based on my research in books and on the net in the last few weeks and would love some feedback and advice on how to light the scene where to position cameras and what i should use for backgrounds or how to get the place looking better for shooting.

We have just purchased a canon xh-a1 camera and have a smallish (500-1000) budget for lighting and backgrounds etc. advice on what to purchase would be a really big help.

Hope this all makes sense!

Thanks for your help.

Phil.

you can click on the photo for larger versions of the photos

Blog Entries

This is obviously a commercial venture. When doing your cost calculations did you forget to allow for a lighting cameraman? Will you be selling the training videos or will your students (who pay fees to attend) be getting them as part of their (paid for) course?

There are two ways of doing this. The easy way and the good way. The easy way will look okay(ish) the good way will cost you money.
    For the easy way, go online, ask around and you'll get loads of suggestions from people who know a bit, know nothing or are just bullsh*tting. Unfortunately you won't be able to tell them apart...
    For the good way employ a cameraman from the STLD (Society of Televison Lighting Directors) or the GTC (Guild of Television Cameramen). Our daily rates are not as much as you might think.
    You might even find a semi-pro (IOV or the APV) who has a bit of an idea.