Thread: Need help with overlay in Adobe Premier Pro

Default Need help with overlay in Adobe Premier Pro

I have recorded myself sitting down and then recorded myself walking past the area that I was sitting. I would like to have the image of myself walking in the background and the sitting version in the foreground. I am a complete noob to Adobe Premier so detailed advice would be best.

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Pazma View Post
    I have recorded myself sitting down and then recorded myself walking past the area that I was sitting. I would like to have the image of myself walking in the background and the sitting version in the foreground. I am a complete noob to Adobe Premier so detailed advice would be best.

Thanks in advance.

You will NOT do this with Premeire Pro alone - at least not the way you filmed it.

What other s/w you got access to? You'll need a good image editor (Photoshop?) or a good compositing tool (After Effects?) to do this.

having two of you in picture at the same time is easy enough (but again best done in AE). It's the walking in front of yourself bit that makes it a no go becaue Premier Pro has very limited masking capabilities and you will not be able to get a clean outline.

If you can refilm the walk past using a bluescreen you're on a winner though.

Thanks, I have Vegas and Photoshop CS aswell, my only previous experience is with Windows Movie Maker so all this masking and bluescreen stuff is new to me. I was thinking of trying to make a .gif of it. I wanted myself walking to be transparent so it looks ghostly so jerky movement would only add to it. I'll let ya know how it turnes out.

Quote Originally Posted by Pazma View Post