Thread: VHS to computer to edit to DVD?

1. Default VHS to computer to edit to DVD?

I thought that moving the film (if that is the correct term) from VHS tapes to DVDs and then editing it would be simple even though I have never done it before but I was wrong.
    I started by connecting a VHS player to a DVD recorder and played the VHS taped while they recorder to a DVD. No problem, because they played on a TV when I tried them out. The problems started when I attempted to move the files that I had capture on the DVDs onto my computer to edit and it was then that I discovered the complexities of VOB, AVI and MPEG files.
    After looking at various forums I discovered that there is software that will convert the VOB files to AVI and MPEG but there were as many threads that were critical of that method as there were supporting it.
    Then I was given a box with "Xpert DVD Maker USB 2.0 written on it. This cost about 30.00 and it came with instructions that promised that all I had to do was to connect it to my VHS player and computer through a scart lead and a USB and all would be well but I could not get it to transfer the VHS content to my computer.
    I then read in a forum that the USB methods is not as good as a fire wire connection. A friend told me that he uses a Canopus ADVC110 (analogue to digital video converter) into the Fire wire but that costs 200.00 more or less.
    I then read that I should use the computer video capture card but I am such a novice that I don't know if I even have one.
    So, with that rambling description does anyone have a suggestion as to what method I should use to capture my VHS tapes to my computer?

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

I prefer to use the Analgue-to-digital box route. However this is the cheapest method in the short term so if it's a one-off project it may be cheaper to borrow one and pay someone to do it for you.