Thread: What hardware needed to upgrade for video editing

Default What hardware needed to upgrade for video editing

I am relatively new to video editing. I have a system consisting of: 2.4 mhz Pentium 4, xp, 2x80GB SATA HD, Ati Radeon 9200 VIVO card with 128 MB,512 MB PC3200 Ram, sound card from the motherboard. Software used is Ulead VideoStudio 6SE. Its main purpose was for converting VHS tapes to VCD when it was bought 6 months ago. I have now mostly finished converting some 50 one hour tapes with varying degree of quality - some have diagonal lines or tiles and some reasonably good. I plan to upgrade my sytem to achieve better video quality for DVD recording mostly from digital camcorder. Should I upgrade the capture card, ram, software or the video card. One suggestion is to upgrade the vidio card to AIW 9800Pro, which I don't know if I agree, because I do't use the system for games nor I plan to watch TV with it. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

I recently did a video project for school on an almost identical system -- it had a Radeon 9600 rather than 9200. That system is just fine for video editing. You really don't need to do any upgrades. So what if you've got an old video card? See, many people think that a good video card is required for video editing. They're wrong. All that the video card does is outputs a display to your monitor or TV, and in cases such as yours, inputs from an external video source. The thing that's actually doing the editing in your case is the CPU.

The one thing you might consider getting if you have the money, is a nice DVD burner. They're getting cheaper and cheaper, and a DVD has video quality that's SO much higher than VCD you won't believe it.

Default Usages for ATI AIW 9800Pro