Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bullet Cam filming

Default Bullet Cam filming

Guys,

I've already got a Sony DCR HC19e, which is a fun, easy and simple cam. It's great but won't accept a DV in for a bullet cam. A guy reccommended a DCR HC96e (which is great as I want to stay with tape), but this has no external mic. It is 3CCD but so is the Panasonic GS400. I don't want to leave Sony but the docking station for the 96e is a pain apparently. I know you can't have everything but I make high action sports and aviation films and now require external bullet cam support. Am I right in favouring the Sony just 'cos I've had one and are familiar? Do you guys know of a better cam for bullet cam support? I'm a pilot and promise to put some films on site here, just need to get a better camera for the job...help, much appreciated.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by TimDogg View Post
    It's great but won't accept a DV in for a bullet cam. A guy reccommended a DCR HC96e (which is great as I want to stay with tape), but this has no external mic. It is 3CCD but so is the Panasonic GS400. I don't want to leave Sony but the docking station for the 96e is a pain apparently.
    As far as I'm aware bullet cams feed an analogue rather than DV signal to the camera and you therefore need a camera with AV inputs. Because you're using the AV inputs, the onboard mic also won't work and you'll need to link an external mic to the audio in of the camcorder.

Marc, thanks, you're absolutely right, I meant AV, I'm an idiot. I was looking at the DogCam site a while ago, I'm happy with the cameras that accept the input but I can't really increase the size of the Cam as I have to take it in the jet with me, these cockpits are pretty small. Maybe I'm trying to kill too many birds with too many stones. Maybe a higher end version of the Sony is what I need, just trying to see if guys are completely happy with what they're using for bullet cam filming.

Blog Entries