Thread: Advice on purchasing a camcorder

Default Advice on purchasing a camcorder

Hi folks, I'm looking for some advice on purchasing a camcorder. I've never owned a camcorder before but have some experience of using one. I am not a professional and am only looking to use the camcorder for family videos and the like. My list of requirements are below:

- Around 300-400 max, lower is always better though!

- I wish to edit my video but nothing fancy, the convenience of DVD appeals to me over DV tape however the ideal of finalizing DVD's does NOT appeal. Am I right in thinking DVD-RAM doesn't need to be finalized before it can be played?

- I have no use of manual controls, the majority of my videos will be "point and shoot" full auto, I'm not a gadget freak and will not have the time to mess with settings

- I have no use of still photography: I have a DSLR for that

- Image stabilization is a must, my hands are NOT steady! (maybe too much booze in my earlier life?)

- Future proof would be good, it must last at least say 5 years before I throw it away as obsolete.

- I would rather pay for optical quality than a brand name, if it says skoda on the side I still wont mind driving it (oh wait wrong forum)

Any advice on fulfilling these (simple?) requests would be greatly appreciated. I'm hoping to make a purchase over the next week so advice on where to purchase would also be appreciated.

Thanks and regards

Gordon Copestake

Blog Entries

For future proofing, I would initially suggest a High Definition camcorder, but this is both out of your price range and not necessarily future proof for the next 5 years given the state of change. Prices start at just over 1,000 for HDV and just under this amount for HDAVC.

DVD camcorders are fine and dandy if you don't want to edit your footage on a PC, but things tend to get complicated when you want to. It's not impossible, but harder to edit than miniDV footage.