Thread: Which books / internet guides for Premiere Pro beginner?

Default Which books / internet guides for Premiere Pro beginner?

I am fairly new to premiere so I need to know the basic features but also some detailed ones too. I was wondering which books are best to cover most if not all of the features in premiere, while being suitable for a new learner.

I have had a look on Amazon and had a look in a few book shops but wondered which books you guys have read and what you can recommend. Also, any online guides would be good too.

Thanks all.

OK, the temptation here, of course, is to suggest that you read the documentation that came with your s/w

but these aren't always the best teaching books. It sounds like you could do with a lesson based approach. Have a look at the 'teach yoursefl in 24 hours' series. http://tinyurl.com/3ddm2. I've read a handfull of these and they're not usually aimed too high and you are lead into the s/w gradually. They're not reference books (although a couple I own have numerous yellow post-it stuck in loads of pages).

I've generally found them readable enough that you can read them away from your desk and then attack the actuall lessons (using the s/w) after reading.

It'll certainly get you going.

If it's a reference book s you want then I find the 'bible' books pretty good. http://tinyurl.com/2dje5

However, if you're familiar enough with the s/w and are looking for a recipe book to walk you through standard (or cool) techniques then I have no recommendations as yet. If I could find somethign like the Photoshop 'Down and dirty tricks' books I'd be well happy.