Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Bad render quality.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6

    Default Bad render quality.

    I have recently formatted my computer, I have also rendered a clip using wmv codec, x264 codec[vdub] and h264 codec.

    Each time I render, the quality is very lossy, even when I use settings I have used for over a year now.

    What could be a factor to the bad render quality I am receiving?

    The uncompressed version is perfectly clear, like normal.
    No matter what bitrate I use or what settings, it turn out the same in every version, lots of artifacting/blurriness around the entire clip.

    I know how to render perfect quality, but all of a sudden it just gives up on me.

    Here is an example :
    Bad quality


    Good quality
    Last edited by Marc Peters; 01-06-2007 at 12:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42
    Posts
    329

    Default

    From what I can tell by your examples, the bad is deinterlaced, the good shows full interlace. Check your interlace/deinterlace settings. Maybe it'll be called progressive scan. You don't want progressive scan, it's deinterlaced.
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crusty View Post
    From what I can tell by your examples, the bad is deinterlaced, the good shows full interlace. Check your interlace/deinterlace settings. Maybe it'll be called progressive scan. You don't want progressive scan, it's deinterlaced.
    That was my initial thoughts Crusty, but the source of the video looks like a PC video game. It would be good to know thet source of the video to help diagnose the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    It doesnt look like compression probelms / artifacts to me, as suggested it looks like poor deinteralcing.

    I would wager that by trying to compress interlaced footage some very poor deinterlacing is taking place causing the blurry look.

    I suggest deinterlacing the footage befor compression. I my expirience compressing stuff using wmv (for sure) can cause blurring / tearing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have deinterlace checked off, the picture you see had multiple images is because it has 4[120 source into 30] frames blended into one.

    Most videogame movies have anything from 30-2000 frames blended into 30 a second.


    Now someone else said that I could be rendering with either my video card OR my cpu and that could be the problem, how do I check what I am using to render with?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Automatic View Post
    I could be rendering with either my video card OR my cpu and that could be the problem, how do I check what I am using to render with?
    A rather strange thing to suggest in my opinion. The GPU of video cards are sometimes used to render effects, but encoding video is the domain of the CPU.

    Please post the following info:

    • All settings of the source and destination including framesize, bitrate, codec etc.
    • How the video was captured
    • What software you are using for render

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6

    Default

    The source of the file is : Fraps recording a counter-strike clip at 1/4th speed at 30FPS.

    Then I add effects/sound and render uncompressed for x264 [which I use a makemp4.bat to render with] and wmv in vegas.

    The uncompressed settings are :




    And when I render wmv :

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have never edited catpured games footage so i dont know how helpfull this will be but it looks like fraps has captured mutiple frmes, with the compression averaging the result.

    Cant you only caputre one frame per 1/30 sec? Can you set the games frame to 30 per second so it only captures single complete frames ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Well the way fraps records at 30FPS and forces the program down to 30 while it records, or whatever you set it at.

    To record MORE fps at a single time you need to slow the game down by how ever much fps you need, in this case I wanted 120FPS a second so I slowed the game down to 1/4th speed when I recorded.

    Then I take the 30FPS clip that was slowed down, put it in vegas and speed it up by 4, it creates frame blending that makes 30fps look like 120fps.

    So each frame will have 4 frames blended into one to create a much smoother effect during playback.

    Here is an example of how my quality should look, this is a clip from a guy on my movie making team for counter-strike 1.6 : http://files.filefront.com/andrew_CO.../fileinfo.html

    Then you look at mine and go... yeah .

    We use the same settings for rendering.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I am begining to think that vegas 7.0 is something to do with this, I rendered a clip using vegas 6.0 and it was fine..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Best Quality Render
    By Geekman in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-19-2006, 10:57 PM
  2. Gettin the best quality possible, like dvd quality
    By videoboy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2005, 04:38 PM
  3. Vegas Render Quality
    By JLove450 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2005, 04:29 PM
  4. Light and quality capturing quality
    By MrChad in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 10:53 PM
  5. Unable to Render. transitions/effects will not render. HELP
    By ryan_san in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 03:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •