Thread: Editing audio in Pro 2

Default Editing audio in Pro 2

I am going through "Classroom in a Book" and have a project I would like to edit the audio waveforms.....the book says it can be done at the sample level but I cant figgure out how..? my camera man ( wife....) is talking during a portion and I wold like to "cut her out".... ideas?

Blog Entries

It's rather difficult to isolate a voice and cut this out of the audio without the audio sounding, for want of a better term, 'tinny'. It can be done, personally I'm not too good at this kind of thing! I would suggest you loop some ambient sound from another section of video and place this over the section.

Thanks I will give that a try....if I can figure it out...

I reckon you can get close with the right tools. I'm sure other tools can do similar but the one I know is Adobe Audition.

Download and install the 30 trail version.
    Pull in the audio from your clip.
    Change to 'Spectral Frequency View' and you can see your lovely sound.

Now if it's clear and distinct enough from the background noise you will be able to 'see' your wife's speach in the display.

You can do some cool magic in here beacuse, as my Adobe Audition mentor Jason Levine always says... "If you can see it, you can remove it" [You see, I was paying attention at last year's Video Forum!!]

You can select the lasso tool and draw a line around the 'speach' (Note that v1 and 1.5 users only have the marquee tool here). Once you've done that then choose the 'repair transient' option from the favourites menu. What this does is attempt to remove the highlighted sound but fill in the space it took up by sucking in the sound frequencies from around the outside of the selection. It is designed to repair pops and clicks and so does not work on large selections so you may not be lucky here.