Thread: Need software selection help...please

Default Need software selection help...please

I am completely new to video editing and want to learn. I was looking at the Adobe product but did not know which one to get. Below is a spec sheet on the basics of my CPU. It does not have a firewire port, but that is in the works soon. I want to create a high quality editing and DVD product for myself inititaly, and may want to make it a career . Anyway you got to start somewhere.

here is my system:

Dimension E521,Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (2.00GHz, 512Kx2)2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHzDell USB Keyboard19 in (19 in viewable) E197FPBFlat Panel Display256MB nVidia GeForce 7300LE TurboCache250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7200RPM)3.5in Floppy DriveMicrosoft Windows XP Professional,Service Pack 2, EnglishWindows Media Player 10Dell Direct DownloadInternet Search and PortalImage Restore Dell Owners Manual installed on your system,click on icon after system set-up to accessBackup media for XP Pro Dimension E521Thank you for choosing DellDell USB 2-button mouseIntegrated NIC card56K PCI Data Fax ModemAdobe Acrobat Reader 7.016X DVD-ROM and 16X DVD+/-RWSonic CineplayerRoxio Creator Basic/MyDVD Basic

I appreciate any advice on getting me going in the right direction.
    Thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by fshngyd View Post
    I am completely new to video editing and want to learn. I was looking at the Adobe product but did not know which one to get. Below is a spec sheet on the basics of my CPU. It does not have a firewire port, but that is in the works soon. I want to create a high quality editing and DVD product for myself inititaly, and may want to make it a career . Anyway you got to start somewhere.